Taking Time…

Grandfather-ClockThis past Sunday, me and a friend of mine were watching four hours of the 24 hour film The Clock (I watched it from around 10:45 AM to the 3:00 PM and my friend from 10:50 AM to 2:50 PM) by artist and musician Chrisitan Marclay at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. I’ve been dying to see this film for a while, so I walked down from my building to the museum, as soon as I got there (for the first time) the line was very congested and long, when it ended up being my turn I had to leave so that I could make it on time for class. Then I came over the second time when I was on brake from class. The line got shorter and faster and eventually I was able to grab a seat. Even seeing just ten minutes of it was very mind blowing. It makes you feel like you’ve been taken from one point in time to the next. I also loved how everything is synched together in realtime so that each clip in the film goes by the actual time of the day.

This film contains clips of films from various different genres and time periods from around the world. It transitions throughout time, culture and boarders. The main point in this film is how much we rely on time on a regular basis. I believe this is why so many people (including myself) are very ridden with anxiety because they have to do something around a specified amount of time. Millions of years ago a day was 21 hours and before the lightbulb was invented people slept for ten hours instead of just seven. We live in a fast-paced, technologically reliant society. The quicker the technological progress goes, the more reliant we are on time. The only solution to this would be to stop using all kinds of technology for one day, and to engage in more relaxing and fun traditional activities instead. It removes a lot of stress and anxiety and will help make you feel calmer and happier.

In the words of Israel’s very first female prime minister Goldia Meir; “I must govern the clock, not be governed by it.”

About sheblum

I am 26 and currently attend Academy Art University in San Francisco.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

